Toggl Desktop on openSUSE and Xfce

My efforts to get Toggl Desktop working on 64 bit openSUSE 12.3 and Xfce 4.10. Spoiler: It works, but not well enough to please me.

As part of my search for a time tracking solution I can be happy with, I test drove Toggl. The concept is great and the web interface is nice. I’d rather not have to have a browser open and a tab dedicated to nothing more than a timeclock button, however, so I gave their desktop software a try.

The concept is good: a small button in your system tray to punch in and punch out, with the optional ability to set and view all those neat bells and whistles the web interface offers. Sadly, it doesn’t play well with my distribution and desktop manager, and I’ve moved on to another solution. For the record, however, here’s what I did and how it worked:

I downloaded the latest stable version of the software. It’s available at no cost but proprietary, officially supported only for Ubuntu, and available only as a tarball. Unpacking the tarball, there is a pretty good INSTALL.txt which I followed.

Running the executable per the instructions, I got the error “TideSDK: Couldn’t load file:/home/warren/bin/TogglDesktop/runtime/1.3.1-beta/libtide.so, error: libgnutls.so.26: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory”

I did have /usr/lib64/libgnutls.so.28, provided by the package libgnutls28. Presumably Toggl Desktop wants me to downgrade to libgnutls26. No thank you, said I; instead I made a symlink to make TogglDesktop think libgnutls.so.28 is libgnutls.so.26:

warren@verdi:/usr/lib64&> sudo ln libgnutls.so.28.11.3 libgnutls.so.26

That satisfied Toggl Desktop; it then ran and worked fine. To my dismay there seemed to be no way for it to remember my credentials and no documentation to be found, so I had to manually enter them every time I launched the application. This makes it a step backward from the web interface, which can remember my credentials.

The problems didn’t end there: there was no tray icon for it in Xfce 4.10. I installed Alltray (from rpm.pbone.net; it was not available in openSUSE’s repositories). Launching Toggl Desktop with:

alltray --hide ~/bin/TogglDesktop/TogglDesktop

…launched it minimized to a tray icon as I desired. However, alltray takes over right clicks on the tray icon, which is where Toggl Desktop has its start and stop controls. So the work flow becomes:

  1. Launch Toggl Desktop from a custom menu item or launcher to call it via alltray
  2. Press the tray icon to open it
  3. Manually enter my credentials
  4. Press the start button
  5. Minimize

That’s just to start the timer. Add all those times I will want to stop and restart the timer, and I concluded Toggl Desktop was more trouble than it’s worth.

Alternatives to Toggl Desktop
I’ve looked at other time tracking solutions.

About Warren Post

So far: Customer support guy, jungle guide, IT consultant, beach bum, entrepreneur, teacher, diplomat, over-enthusiastic cyclist. Tomorrow: who knows?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Toggl Desktop on openSUSE and Xfce

  1. Pingback: Time tracking solutions | A maze of twisty little passages

Leave a Reply

