Mageia 2 installation notes

Notes taken during a clean install of Mageia 2.

When in October 2012 I decided Linux Mint was not for me, I replaced it with Mageia 2 on my main box, Verdi. These notes are a supplement to my notes on installing a new distribution.

PRE-INSTALLATION TESTING AND PREPARATION
Playing with live CD (graphics configuration, etc.). Installing to VirtualBox (kernel boot option “text”, etc). Preparation (partitions, UID, etc.).

INSTALLATION
1st try: custom partitions, which I screwed up and forgot to mount /home. Duh.

2nd try: let installer do it, formatting only /, and partitions came out well. I accepted installer’s offer to remove unneeded localizations and hardware support; see missing locale noted and fixed below. (Note my nonstandard locale needs.) I had all peripherals connected and turned on, but my printer was not detected.

First boot configuration: Xguest account: I didn’t see the option to not create it, so it was silently created. Created myself with UID 1000 (nondefault). GUI configuration hung at this point; I went to console to reboot. Saw an error message of a missing locale; installing locales-es fixed it. Rebooted from console.

On second boot, the 1st boot configuration finished running without problem and all was well.

CONFIGURATION
Remove user Xguest, group live, directory ~/live. Set to not autologin on boot. Removed unneded files autocorr-* and kde-l10n-en_GB. Install other users, manually setting UIDs. Updated. Set other users’ locale to es_HN.

To my surprise, CUPS was not installed out of the box. There is an easy to use tool to set up printing in the Mageia Control Center (Hardware – Set up the printer), which installed some 300 MB of additional packages. It couldn’t see my printer, even after restarting the CUPS service. Once I rebooted the computer, both the Mageia tool and the CUPS web interface saw my printer, which I was able to install and use without issue.

TODO: Presumably a reboot wasn’t necessary and I only had to (re)start some service other than CUPS. Presumably I could have manually installed only what I needed and ended up with a lighter box. Investigate and document.

My scanner worked out of the box with no configuration needed.

Hibernation (pm-hibernate) works, but (in a regression from Mandriva on this hardware) there is no splash screen during hibernation and thaw, and there is X screen corruption upon thaw. man pm-utils mentions quirks options, but the one that addresses my symptom is clearly marked “Using this feature on Intel graphics hardware is probably a bad idea.”

Tweak Xfce.

Set up user images on the login screen.

ALTERNATIVES TO MAGEIA
Distributions with similar goals to that of Mageia include OpenSUSE, Mepis, and Fusion.

REFERENCES
The Mageia project site has a wiki, errata, and support forums.
Distrowatch’s Mageia page
The newsgroup alt.os.linux.mageia is one of the best distro-specific groups I’ve found

About Warren Post

So far: Customer support guy, jungle guide, IT consultant, beach bum, entrepreneur, teacher, diplomat, over-enthusiastic cyclist. Tomorrow: who knows?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

