Software I commonly install and remove

I find it handy to have lists of software I commonly install and remove, both on my own computers and on boxes I work on. Having this list handy saves me time in setting up new installations and in preparing to work on others’ boxes.

I present it here as an of such a list, not because its particular contents would be useful to anyone else. Software usually installed by default is not included here.

WHAT I COMMONLY INSTALL ON BOXES I WORK ON

WHAT I COMMONLY INSTALL ON MY OWN BOXES
Perhaps things on the previous list, plus:

WHAT I KEEP ON LIVE MEDIA (e.g. live CD, bootable USB)

WHAT I OFTEN REMOVE

  • brasero
  • gnome-calculator
  • Anything with “game” in the name or description
  • java
  • mono
  • pidgin, libpurple
  • pragha
  • remmina
  • ristretto
  • shotwell
  • sound-juicer
  • totem
  • tracker
  • transmission
  • Unneeded packages with “i18n”, “l10n”, “locale”, “-lang”, or “spell” in their names
  • If the hardware doesn’t support Bluetooth, then bluez, bluez-cups, bluez-firmware, libgnome-bluetooth7
  • Support for other hardware I don’t have (e.g. HSF modems)

This article was last reviewed on 25 September 2017 with reference to openSUSE 42.3 and Xfce 4.

About Warren Post

So far: Customer support guy, jungle guide, IT consultant, beach bum, entrepreneur, teacher, diplomat, over-enthusiastic cyclist. Tomorrow: who knows?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Software I commonly install and remove

  1. Pingback: Installation notes, Linux Mint Debian 201204 | A maze of twisty little passages

  2. Pingback: Security and stability tuning on Linux | A maze of twisty little passages

Leave a Reply

